Happy Holidays- Be Thankful Somebody Cares Enough to Wish You Well

Now that it’s December, most of us are thinking about our upcoming winter holiday, whatever that may be. There has been a huge dispute these last few years on what we should call the holiday season, most sides taking a rather hostile stance with their opinion. I guess maybe I’m the odd one out when I say, “Whats the big deal?” The point is, most everyone celebrates something during this time of year, why can’t we all just agree to respect that maybe it’s not the same thing as what we celebrate?

Of all these arguments, the most heated is between “Happy holidays” or “Merry Christmas”. Why? Because for many years here in America, most everybody that celebrated something probably celebrated Christmas. Now that we in America are beginning to become enlightened to other paths, it seems more appropriate, or *cough* “politically correct” to say “Happy holidays.” The fact that President Obama celebrated with a “Holiday tree” last year threw some people into hysterics. So I guess my question would be, “Why does it matter? The point is you don’t usually know a stranger’s particular path, so why not just wish them good tidings, whatever path they follow.” Seems pretty simple to me. I guess, though, it is a matter of life and death for some people who are so uncomfortable with their spirituality that they feel a compelling urge to hang at dawn anybody who does not believe what they believe.

It’s time to face the music, fellow Americans. Not everybody believes what you believe. Many of those who celebrate Christmas lay claim to the whole season, saying that their religion started the whole holiday. I’m not going to go into a long history of December holidays 101, but suffice it to say that with a little research, you will see that the ancient pagan holiday of Yule was the original December holiday.

I personally celebrate Yule and Christmas every year. I am pagan myself but I grew up celebrating Christmas with my family and it has always been a time of magic, love, and togetherness for us. These days everybody in my household, with the exception of my mom, is also pagan. Although my spirituality is nature based, I have no problem celebrating Christmas for what it means to me: love and togetherness. As a matter of fact, after celebrating Christmas my entire childhood, it would seem weird not to feel the magic of Christmas eve and morning. Does this mean I am not confident in my spirituality? No. It means that I am open minded enough to enjoy something of a different path for what its worth. Even most atheists buy each other a present and get together with family.

Yule is definitely the December holiday I get excited about. It is the one with the most personal meaning to me as an individual. But do I take offence when somebody wishes me a Merry Christmas or happy holiday? Of course not. I think it is important that we respect each other, no matter what our paths or beliefs. Nobody has the right to inflict their personal path on the entire nation, its a very small minded thing to do. I guess a good way to put it is, a person who celebrates Christmas would be very distraught if everybody HAD to say “blessed Yule” or “happy Kwanzaa.” Well that’s how we all feel. Its ok to give good tidings, but if somebody wishes you tidings of a different faith, don’t be a dick. You should be happy that they are wishing you peace, love, and blessings at all. This goes for any tidings of a different path, including “happy holidays.” People who wish you happy holidays aren’t doing it to be “politically correct”, they’re doing it because they’re open minded and respectful of all faiths. Even though I’m pagan, I still say “Merry Christmas” to everybody who wishes me a merry Christmas. If I’m not sure what they celebrate, I just say “happy holidays” or “blessed Yule.”

The point is, put it to bed. This is the 21st century. We have bigger problems than the way somebody chose to wish us holiday blessings. You know, like the irreversible climate situation, GMOs, rainforest exploitation, and the media. Time to wake up.

Leave a comment